Home > Study > Universities and Colleges

Anhui Agricultural University

source:www.csc.edu.cn release date:2017/02/16 hits:1381


2017 Application Guide for International Postgraduate Students Under Chinese Government Scholarship 


Anhui Agricultural University locates in Hefei, a famous historic city known as the hometown of Bao Zheng the distinguished justice in the Song Dynasty and noted as a base of scientific research and higher education of China. Anhui Agricultural University, the only agricultural university of the province, is a historic and comprehensive university with a broad social impact. 

The university dates back to the Provincial Anhui University founded in Anqing in 1928, whose predecessor, the College of Agronomy, attached to the university, was founded in 1935. It became independent from the Provincial Anhui University and was renamed Anhui Agricultural College after moving to Hefei in 1954. In 1995, Anhui Agricultural College was renamed Anhui Agricultural University. The university covers an area of 210 hectares with a total building space of 770,000 square meters. And the total value of instruments for teaching and scientific research adds up to 220 million Yuan. The number of printed book of the library is 1.28 million volumes.

The university consists of 17 schools. Currently, there are 2
0413 full-time students, with 2,200 graduate students pursuing master's and PhD degrees included. The University employs 1,657 faculty and staff members, of whom 159 are full professors, 393 are associate professors, and over 390 are PhD and master supervisors. Five of them were awarded as the National Model Teachers or the National Excellence Teachers. One of the courses offered in the University has been named as National Excellence Course. Additionally four distinguished professors have been hired for the Wanjiang-Scholars-Award Program and three chair professor posts have been set up.

The university offers 70 undergraduate programs, including 5 national special majors and 1 National Excellence Course. At present there are 1 national (under cultivation) key discipline, 16 provincial/ministerial key disciplines, and 2 postdoctoral research stations. The University is also authorized to grant doctorates in 5 level-A disciplines and 31 level-B disciplines, and offers 62 master’s degrees programs.

The university takes great initiatives in her international exchanges and co-operations and has set up close relations with the academic institutions from over 30 countries and regions.