Home > About Anhui > Facts about Anhui > Do you know

About Anhui

Do you know

· Anhui Province was established in the sixth year of the Reign of Kangxi Emperor of the Qing Dynasty (1667A.D.). Anhui, the name of the province, is a portmanteau word combining the first characters of Anqing and Huizhou.

· "Wan" (皖) is another name for Anhui province. There was an ancient state named “Wan” in the Spring and Autumn Period (722 B.C.-481 B.C.) and a mountain called “Wanshan” in Anhui, hence the name.

· "Jianghuai (江淮) Area" usually refers to Anhui, because the Yangtze River and the Huai River run across the Province in the south and the north respectively.

· Anhui covers a land area of 140.1 thousand square kilometers with the registered population of 70.829 million in 2018.

· Hefei is the capital city of the province, which is the hometown of Bao Zheng, an upright government officer in the Song Dynasty.

· The climate in Anhui is warm and moist, and the four seasons are distinct.

· Lotus Peak of Mount. Huangshan, the highest peak in Anhui is 1,873 meters above sea level. 

· Chaohu Lake is the largest lake in Anhui and one of the five largest freshwater lakes in China.

· It has been discovered that even 2.5 million years ago, human beings already inhabited the site in the Inverted V Cave in Fanchang County of Wuhu City.

`The Chinese alligator, also known as the Yangtze alligator, one of critically endangered species, is endemic to eastern China. Most remaining wild individuals live in Anhui Chinese Alligator Nature Reserve in Xuancheng City of Anhui.

· Anhui has a long history of producing the "scholar's four treasures" —brush, ink stick, paper, ink stone. It is one of the nation's most important bases for producing "scholar's four treasures".