Two in Anhui named demonstration bases for patriotic education

Updated:Jun 22,2021 11:09 AM

Two sites in East China’s Anhui province have been designated as national demonstration bases for patriotic education, bringing the province’s total number to 16, Anhui Daily reported on Monday.

The Publicity Department of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China (CPC) named 111 national demonstration bases for patriotic education, including Wangjiaba, a sluice along the 1,000-km Huaihe River in Anhui, and the National Synchrotron Radiation Laboratory, the first national laboratory in China.

Wangjiaba sluice was built and put into use in 1953. It was demolished and rebuilt at the original site due to a flood in 2003. The sluice gate went into operation again in 2004, with a designed flood inflow of 1,626 cubic meters per second and a designed water level of safety guarantee at 29.30 meters.

Located in the west campus of the University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) in Hefei, capital of Anhui province, the National Synchrotron Radiation Laboratory is the first national laboratory in the country.

The department has urged those patriotic education bases to play an import part in celebrating the 100th anniversary of the founding of the CPC. They are also required to promote a Party-wide campaign on CPC history learning and education and a nationwide one on the learning of the CPC history, the history of New China, the history of the nation’s reform and opening-up and the history of socialist development.