Mt. Jiuhua

Updated:Jan 11,2017 16:39 PM

Mt. Jiuhua, a branch range of Huangshan and within the boundaries of Qingyang County in the south of Anhui Province, stretches over an area of 120 square kilometers.


Tiantai Peak

It has 99 peaks among which Tiantai (Heavenly Platform), Lianhua (Lotus Flower), Tianzhu (Heavenly Column) and Shiwang (Ten Kings) are included in the nine steepest ones. The main peak, Shiwang Peak, towers 1,342 meters (4,398 ft.) above sea level.

201410171613561449_jGJPQdwo.jpgBuddhist service

Mt. Jiuhua--Mount Jiuzi in ancient time, is one of the four most well known Buddhist mountains in China. With a reputed name of "Lotus Flower Buddhist Kingdom", Mt. Jiuhua is famed home and abroad for its rich Buddhist culture and gorgeous natural landscape.

According to ancient books, in the Emperor Tai Zu's seventh year in the Tang Dynasty (A. D 719), a royal kinsman of Sin Lo (present Kyongju, R.O.Korea) named Jim Chiau Jue who became a monastic under the name of Earth Store Bodhisattva (known as Ti Tsang or Di Zang) crossed the ocean to China.


Huacheng Temple

According to Earth Store Sutra, Earth Store Bodhisattva was appointed by Shakyamuni to be the headmaster of Buddhism on Earth. He settled down in Mt. Jiuhua where he had a life of self-denial and self-cultivation. He passed away at the age of 99, and was called, respectfully, Earth Store Bodhisattva. Thus, the mountain became a place where religious rites were held to worship Earth Store Bodhisattva and for centuries temples and monasteries mushroomed there with incense smoke always filling the air.


Jiuhua Street

Jiuhua Street lies at the hinterland of Mount Jiuhua, where some large-scale temples such as Corporal Grand Hill, Dragon Temple, and Huacheng Temple are situated here.

Mt. Jiuhua has more than 90 temples and monasteries, more than 6,000 sculptured Buddha's and a number of Corporal Buddha's. Among the 2,000 pieces of well-protected cultural relics, the most valued are the Buddhist scriptures on pattra from the Tang Dynasty, the edition of the Tripitaka from the Emperor Wan Li in the Ming Dynasty, and the Blood Suttra from the Ming Dynasty.