China announces 7 "state reserves of cultural ecology"

Updated:Dec 31,2019 14:31 PM Xinhua

BEIJING, Dec. 30 -- China's Ministry of Culture and Tourism has released a list of seven state-level reserves of cultural ecology.

The reserves aim to protect unique and long-lasting regional cultural systems, which the ministry calls "cultural ecologies."

The list includes the reserves of Minnan culture in Fujian Province, Huizhou culture in Anhui Province and Qiang ethnic culture Sichuan Province.

The reserves were selected after evaluations by experts and field investigation in accordance with relevant regulations, said the ministry.

The ministry will strengthen guidance and inspection of the construction of such reserves, as well as carry out performance evaluation in the future.