3,857 firms open in Anhui FTZ

Updated:Jan 26,2021 15:46 PM www.cnanhui.org

Up to 3,857 enterprises were set up in the China (Anhui) Pilot Free Trade Zone as of the end of 2020, the provincial government said at a press briefing on Monday.

Contracts for 341 programs were signed in the zone, worth 292.2 billion yuan ($45.12 billion).

Inaugurated on September 24, 2020, the zone functions as a major platform for Anhui to serve China’s open development strategy and also helps improve the province’s open economy.

Covering a total area of 119.86 square kilometers, the zone falls into three parts - the Hefei Area, the Wuhu Area and the Bengbu Area. The Hefei Area, located in the capital of the province, focuses on high-end manufacturing, artificial intelligence, quantum information and cross-border e-commerce.

The zone accelerated institutional innovation as 31 new policies were introduced. It contributed to the province’s 540.6 billion yuan of annual imports and exports, which grew 14.1 percent from a year earlier.